I love staying at home with my kids.  Although some days I must say I do wish I had a place to get away for 8 hours a day!  The kids drive me insane but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  They are the sweetest angels and I am so thankful I get to stay at home.  I came across this article recently and I wanted to share it here because honestly I never saw it this way:

http://www.babble.com/relationships/being-a-stay-at-home-parent-is-a-luxury-for-your-spouse/?cmp=smc|413462024

Having been a working mom as well, I can 100% relate to this article.  We always made sure when we were both working to alternate our schedules so that one of us was always home.  Also, it meant that we didn’t have to pay for day care that we couldn’t afford.  That was nice, but we couldn’t work as much due to having to be home by a certain time.  So, we decided just I would work because I was moving up and getting a promotion.  So for about a year, he stayed home while I worked.  It was so nice knowing that he was at home with my kids and I didn’t have to worry.  I knew who was with them and I knew that he would do everything in his power to keep them safe.

sah1

Once he got a job that paid better, our roles switched.  I was now staying at home with the kids while he worked.  We also got a second car to make our lives easier because bringing the baby and 1 and a half year old to the bus stop in 10 degree weather was pretty terrible.  So life went on as usual.  And he wasn’t worried about them because he knew I would be with them at all times.  Now two of my kids are in school (although my 3 year old only goes for 2 hours) and they always have me at the bus stop, school functions, class parties (when I can attend).  Some days I want to pull my hair out and scream.  But not all days.  It’s give and take.  This article made me feel so good though because it really never occurred to me that I was like a luxury, and it never occurred to me that he was as well.  Sometimes you just don’t see what’s right in front of you.

sah2

